Feb 04, 2023  
2019-2020 Catalog 
2019-2020 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Theatre and Dance

Dance (DAN)


238 Theatre
(810) 237-6522
Dance Studio in Northbank Center
(810) 238-7771

Theatre and Dance Chair: Shelby Newport
Director of Dance: Beth Freiman
Administrative Support Staff:
Public Relations and Advising: 
Sheena Lewis and Audrey Beauchesne
Personnel and Course Scheduling: Suzanne Shivnen
Finance and Budget: Karri Spoelstra

Lecturers Beth Freiman, Emma Davis and Adesola Akinleye

Programs in Dance

Dance General Program (Bachelor of Arts)  and Minor in Dance and Movement  is also available.

Theatre (THE)


238 Theatre
(810) 237-6522

Chair: Shelby Newport
Administrative Support Staff:
Public Relations and Advising: Sheena Lewis and Audrey Beauchesne
Personnel and Course Scheduling: Suzanne Shivnen
Finance and Budget: Karri Spoelstra
Technical Director: Doug Mueller
Costume Shop Supervisor: Adam Dill
Scene Shop Supervisor: Dave Thompson

Associate Professors Janet Haley, William Irwin and Shelby Newport; Assistant Professor Stephanie Dean; Lecturers Lisa Borton, Nicole Broughton, Adam Dill, Kendrick Jones, Andrew Morton, Doug Mueller, Dave Thompson

Professor Emeritus Lauren Friesen, Professor Emerita Carolyn M. Gillespie.

A concentration in theatre introduces students to all aspects of theatre art and permits students to specialize in those areas of theatre study which are of primary concern to them. Students are prepared for further study on the graduate or conservatory level. Courses of value to the general student population, such as those in dramatic literature, introduction to the theatre, and public address, are also offered through the Theatre and Dance Department. Students seeking a concentration in Theatre must have grades of C (2.0) or higher in all theatre courses. Every theatre major must participate (actor, crew, etc.) in two mainstage productions a year. Scholarship students need to participate in all mainstage productions.

Both full scale and studio theatrical productions are staged each year. All students of the University of Michigan-Flint are cordially invited to participate in these productions.



The Theatre and Dance Department offers a variety of scholarship opportunities designed to attract and retain students of exceptional talent and promise. They include the Ralph M. and Emmalyn E. Freeman Theatre Scholarship, Jeffrey F. Garfield Scholarship, Carolyn M. Gillespie Fund, Stephen Landon Memorial Endowed Scholarship Fund, Kay Sampson Kelly Merit Scholarship, Brian McDonald Theatre Scholarship, the Carl and Sarah Morgan Theatre Fund and the Theatre and Dance Scholarship Program.  Friends of the Theatre, the Chancellor, and our production program support these scholarship opportunities.

Department Mission and Program Assessment

The Theatre and Dance Department is committed to responsible and professional preparation of its students for professional/commercial work in the field, teaching careers in theatre or related areas, further study in graduate or conservatory settings, life-long appreciation of theatre and dance as cultural expression, and leadership roles in the artistic life of their communities. In addition, the department commits itself to liberalizing the perspective of the general college student it encounters through the teaching of its courses, and to enrich the lives of persons in the community by producing challenging, thought-provoking, entertaining experiences which reflect its diversity and which explore vital concerns and issues. The Department participates in the University-wide effort to assess its academic programs. Information on assessment plans, including goals, methods and outcomes is available at http://assessment.umflint.edu.