Dec 05, 2023  
2020-2021 Catalog 
2020-2021 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Computer Science (CSC)

207 William R. Murchie Science Building
(810) 762-3121 
Fax: (810) 766-6780

Chair (Computer Science, Engineering, and Physics): James Alsup

Associate Chair of Computer Science: Mark Allison

Graduate Programs Recruiter/Admissions Counselor: Marisa Eynon-Ezop

Undergraduate Academic Advisor: Jeffery Dobbs 

Systems Administrator: David Rosemary

Administrative Support Staff:

Public Relations and Advising: Cydnee Weirauch
Personnel/Course Scheduling: Patricia Slackta
Financial/Budget: Mary Poletti

Professor: Michael E. Farmer; Associate Professors: Murali Mani, Charlotte Tang, Stephen W. Turner, Suleyman Uludag; Assistant Professors: Amal Alhosban, Mark Allison, Halil Bisgin, Matthew Spradling, Zahid Syed; Lecturers: Quentin J. Galerneau, Brian McBride

Associate Professor Emeritus: R. Shantaram

Computer science encompasses the theory, design, and implementation of algorithms employed to manipulate and transform information. This relatively new science has broad ranging impacts on most modern endeavors and continues to reshape our world.  Students completing a concentration in computer science are exposed to a commitment to life-long learning in a highly dynamic field, and awareness to the broad applicability of computing, and a deep appreciation for the interplay of theory and practice. 

Department Mission and Program Assessment

The mission of the Computer Science program is to provide a solid understanding of the principles of computers and computing not only in the context of problem solving, but also in technical support, education and training and software/hardware management.  The program participates in the University-wide effort to assess its academic programs. Information on assessment plans, including goals, methods and outcomes is available at