May 26, 2020  
2009-2010 Catalog 
2009-2010 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Computer Science (CSC)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments

213 William R. Murchie Science Building
(810) 762-3121 
Fax: (810) 766-6780

Chair (Computer Science, Engineering, and Physics): Dr. Chris Pearson
Administrative Assistant: Patricia A. Slackta
Secretary: Kathleen Leist
Systems Administrator: David Rosemary
Associate Professors Michael E. Farmer, R. Shantaram, Stephen W. Turner; Assistant Professors Judith P. Carlisle, Suleyman Uludag; Lecturers Quentin J. Galerneau, Linda M. Hicks
Professor Emeritus Harry K. Edwards
Associate Professor Emeritus L. C. Wu

Computer science programs provide students with an understanding of the science of computation. The computer is a potent and omnipresent force in our society that can be used responsibly only by those who have a clear understanding of the principles of correct and reliable computation. Students completing a concentration in computer science are prepared to enter the computing profession or to continue in graduate studies.

Department Mission and Program Assessment

The mission of the Computer Science program is to provide a solid understanding of the principles of computers and computing not only in the context of problem solving, but also in technical support, education and training and software/hardware management. The program participates in the University-wide effort to assess its academic programs. Information on assessment plans, including goals, methods and outcomes is available at

Programs in Computer Science

Three concentration programs are offered, all leading to the Bachelor of Science degree; the General Program in Computer Science , the Honors Program in Computer Science  and the General Program in Computer Information Systems .  In addition, a joint BS/MS program in Computer Science  leading to both undergraduate and graduate degrees is available.  Also offered are minors in Computer Science  and Computer Information Systems .

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments